2023 Future of Excellence Competition Winners Announced

Congratulations to everyone who participated in the 2023 Future of Excellence Competition!

The competition was filled with many incredible performances, and it was amazing seeing so many people celebrate and support young musicians studying at the VSO School of Music.

We want to commend the six finalists, Abigail Lui, David Han, Da-Wei Chan, Sara Tan, Sophie Liu, and Xenia Huang, on their fantastic achievements.

Our adjudicators, Maestro Otto Tausk, VSO Concertmaster Nicholas Wright, and acclaimed pianist Michelle Mares, were extremely impressed by all of the performances. After much deliberation, they selected the following winners in the junior and senior divisions:
– Junior Division: Abigail Lui, violin (student of Carla Birston)
– Senior Division: Da-Wei Chan, violin (student of Carla Birston)

As part of his prize package, Da-Wei will have the opportunity to perform as a soloist with the VSO in their next season.

Join our Friends List!

Be in the know about new classes, registration dates, special offers and more from the VSO School (but not too often, we promise)

Join the List